Apple idioms

A bad apple

  • ‘A bad apple’ refers to a person who is unreliable or corrupt.
  • Example: They were a well behaved group of kids until Katie joined the class. She’s a bad apple.

The apple of my eye

  • ‘The apple of my eye’ is used to describe someone or something very precious, often the centre of your attention.
  • Example: My new puppy is the apple of my eye. I can’t wait to get home to see her.

(like) comparing apples and oranges

  • ‘(like) comparing apples and oranges’ is used when someone is talking about two non-similar items, but trying to compare them as though they were similar.
  • Example: You can’t compare who works harder, me or you; I am a teacher and you are a fisherman, and that is like comparing apples and oranges.

Leave a Reply

